Courtesy of Black Enterprise
Have you ever wondered what happens to information stored on digital accounts after you pass away? The thought of your personal information floating through cyber space years after your passing is a bit scary. Google recently came up with an answer to that burning question. They created Inactive Account Manager, a process that allows users of Google to entrust account information to family or friends or have an account completely deleted after a certain period of inactivity.
“No one likes to think about death—especially your own. Inactive Account Manager makes it easy to tell when a user is no longer accessing their account,” says Google Spokesperson Nadja Blagojevic.
Getting set up is fairly easy. Users start off by choosing whether they would like their account to be deleted after anywhere from three to 12 months of inactivity. Or they can choose up to 10 trusted people to receive account information from different services such as Google+ Profiles, YouTube, and Contacts and Circles. Users have the power to pick and choose who will receive that information.